I am Awarded in International Jewellery Design Competiton!

This is one of the 5 designs i sent to Hong Kong competing in The Fifth South Sea Pearl International Jewellery Design Competition. The main theme is using South Sea Pearl, which is the most expensive pearl range existed. It was my first time participating in competition like that and i was selected into TOP 10 Internationally! OMG! I was freaking happy at that time when i received the fax, ” We are please to inform you that you are selected into the finalist.” My heart beat stopped for a few second and a strong adrenaline rush through my spine, before i could get out from the delightful surprise!

However, in order to get to the Top 3. All the finalists have to transform the design on that paper into a real actual piece! How on earth can i do that when i just graduate from the designing course? I am officially “BROKE” that time~ Luckily i was lucky enough to have met some real nice jewellery manufacturer who offered to sponsor the entire piece. Again! Lucky~ Phew…

*Psst* I was not a pro yet that time, not knowing how much it costs for what i have designed. (But not to worry, I am a PRO knowing my job scope very well now). Poor sponsorer has to “dig” around RM 10K to finish it up using roughly 500 pieces of diamonds and 3 Huge South Sea Pearls! LMAO

TADA! Finally it is done! But i don’t have my pearl necklace with me to make it Perfect. I was hypnotized by the beauty of my own design. Sorry to brag about it, but i really was in love with it. Like totally~ =p

Time to bit goodbye to my lovely pendant, it is time to send it to Hong Kong for final judgement. After few months, sadly i do not get into Top 3. But i am happy enough to be recognised as Top 10 International Designer for that year 2005 out of thousands of other designers.

Oo Poh Ling, that is absolutely right! It is ME! My recognition certificate. But what i really wanted was a scholarship to further my study! Oh well, better luck next time in the next 2 years.
Later on my baby pendant came back to me, my sponsorer manage to sell it off with RM 25K to a Datin in Singapore! But i did not get a penny… Sigh Big Big Time ~

Leave a comment